Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award Supported by Covidien

The application deadline for this award has passed.

The Dr. Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award promotes excellence in academic research for members early in their careers. This award honors the founding editor of the Journal of Vascular and Interventional Radiology(JVIR) by recognizing the importance of the young investigator in developing interventional solutions for the future.

In 1990, SIR Foundation established the Dr. Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award as a way to recognize promising young practitioners of interventional medicine early in their careers and encourage their pursuit of academic careers. Each year the author of the most outstanding clinical science research paper submitted receives this distinguished award. This award will be presented at 10:00 am on Monday, March 24, at the beginning of the plenary session entitled, “The Next Big Thing in IR.”

2014 Dr. Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award Recipient

Muneeb Ahmed, MD

Muneeb Ahmed, MD, assistant professor of radiology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Harvard Medical School, is the recipient of the 2014 Dr. Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award. His manuscript, entitled “c-Met Receptor Inhibition Can Suppress Radiofrequency (RF) Ablation-Induced Stimulation of Distant Subcutaneous Tumor Growth,” studies the off-target systemic pro-oncogenic effects of RF ablation, identifies one responsible pathway, and successfully blocks these negative effects using adjuvant pharmacologic modulation.

Dr. Ahmed received his medical degree in 2000 from The Aga Khan University Medical College, Karachi, Pakistan. He then completed a three-year NCI-sponsored post-doctoral research fellowship studying tumor ablation biology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Harvard. He completed his residency training in Diagnostic Radiology at BIDMC in 2008, followed by a fellowship in Vascular and Interventional Radiology at The Johns Hopkins Hospital/School of Medicine in 2009. He returned to BIDMC in 2009 as faculty, where he has an active clinical and interventional oncology practice, and is the director of BIDMC’s VIR fellowship.

Dr. Ahmed has been actively involved in interventional oncology and tumor ablation research since medical school. His specific interests have been in studying and understanding how tumor ablation interacts with tissue biology and in combining this with adjuvant therapies to improve ablation efficacy. As a resident, he was awarded an RSNA Resident Research Grant (2006) to study how RF ablation interacted with surrounding tissue characteristics. More recently, he has been studying how secondary systemic effects of tumor ablation affect distant tumor growth—work that has been funded by an RSNA research seed grant (2012) and an NCI/CCNE pilot project grant (2013). As a result of his research, Dr. Ahmed has co-authored more than 40 original research studies and 16 invited reviews and book chapters (including an invited State-of-the-Art review in Radiology 2011). Additionally, Dr. Ahmed serves as a reviewer for over 15 journals in and out of the field of Interventional Radiology, including JVIR, Radiology, and Radiographics, and has been recognized for reviewing with distinction (Radiology 2007, 2009; Radiographics 2013).

The SIR Foundation is honored to have received a charitable donation for unrestricted use from Covidien. This SIR Foundation Dr. Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award, among other awards, is made possible through the generosity of Covidien.

Previous Dr. Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award Recipients

2013 - Joseph P. Erinjeri, MD, PhD
2012 - Edward Lee, MD, PhD, MSc
2011 - William T. Kuo, MD
2010 - Erik Cressman, MD
2009 - Filip Banovac, MD
2006 - Michael Kuo, MD
2005 - Thomas Jahnke, MD
2004 - Kamran Ahrar, MD
2003 - Kevin Baskin, MD
2002 - Daniel Sze, MD
2001 - David Kallmes, MD
2000 - Jeff Geschwind, MD
1999 - Stephen T. Kee, MD
1998 - Kenneth Moresco , MD
1997 - Michael J. Hallisey, MD
1996 - Richard Shlansky-Goldberg, MD
1995 - Gregory S. Berkey, MD
1994 - Dean A. Nakamoto, MD
1993 - Yonghua Dong, MD
1992 - Moni Stein, MD
1991 - Douglas C. B. Redd, MD
1990 - Max P. Rosen, MD